Thread poster: Mihai Seucan
Mihai Seucan
Mihai Seucan  Identity Verified
Romania
Local time: 20:07
English to Romanian
Nov 14, 2020

Hi,

I am a freelance translator for the last 5 years, and even though I do not have a degree in this field, I have translated so far thousands of pages.
I have an issue now with a new client, a translation agency. I was assigned a project, which according to them has 80.000 words. Format of the file delivered is in Excel. I have 3 Excel files to translate: one small size file, one medium size file, and one very big file. After I finished the small and medium file, and started
... See more
Hi,

I am a freelance translator for the last 5 years, and even though I do not have a degree in this field, I have translated so far thousands of pages.
I have an issue now with a new client, a translation agency. I was assigned a project, which according to them has 80.000 words. Format of the file delivered is in Excel. I have 3 Excel files to translate: one small size file, one medium size file, and one very big file. After I finished the small and medium file, and started working on the big size file I have noticed that maybe the word count is not as they said. I did a word count and actually all 3 files have 200.000 words. I have written an e-mail to translation agency related to this, and they said that there are a lot of words repeating, and so all 3 files have only 80.000 words. But they count words repeating, and not sentences.
So, my question to all experienced translators does this sound ok? Same words in a file is the same with same sentences in a file?
Just wondering....

[Edited at 2020-11-14 20:16 GMT]
Collapse

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 21:07
English to Russian
CAT-tool count Nov 14, 2020

You can easily get the true count by using a CAT tool. This will give you a statistics file that you can reference to and produce to your client.