What kind of regime for a literary translator in England?
Thread poster: Isabelle Meschi
Isabelle Meschi
Isabelle Meschi  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 15:22
Member (2011)
English to French
+ ...
Nov 18, 2018

Hi everybody,

I am a French freelance translator. I lived in London for some months and went back to France. Now, I am torn between two choices. Staying in France or moving again to London and registering as a self-employed translator. Of course, I am also taking the Brexit uncertainty into account and it's not easy to make a choice.

However, here is my question: I also work as a literary translator for a French publishing house and as such, I am also affiliated to the
... See more
Hi everybody,

I am a French freelance translator. I lived in London for some months and went back to France. Now, I am torn between two choices. Staying in France or moving again to London and registering as a self-employed translator. Of course, I am also taking the Brexit uncertainty into account and it's not easy to make a choice.

However, here is my question: I also work as a literary translator for a French publishing house and as such, I am also affiliated to the Agessa, the French social security for artists and authors. If I move to England, does someone know if there will be a special organisation to which I will be affiliated for my literary translations? Or will they be taken into account in my global self-employed regime?

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Isabelle
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:22
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Registration for tax purposes Nov 18, 2018

so far as Brexit is concerned, nobody (including the British government) knows what is going to happen.

In the meantime you might find this useful:

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/dual-residents-hs302-self-assessment-helpsheet

As you can see, it's complicated but possible, and it would enable you to
... See more