Chinese to English Translation Qualifications for New Translators with Little Experience
Thread poster: Dickson Man
Dickson Man
Dickson Man
Local time: 03:05
Chinese to English
Mar 17, 2019

Hello all,

I am currently studying a bachelor’s degree that is not related to translation in Hong Kong, but I have been working as a contracted translator for a novel translation company for almost two years now. I am currently considering about taking a qualification exam for Chinese to English translation as it seems that having qualifications will give me a slight head start if I do pursue further in the career path of translation.

After a bit of online research, t
... See more
Hello all,

I am currently studying a bachelor’s degree that is not related to translation in Hong Kong, but I have been working as a contracted translator for a novel translation company for almost two years now. I am currently considering about taking a qualification exam for Chinese to English translation as it seems that having qualifications will give me a slight head start if I do pursue further in the career path of translation.

After a bit of online research, there does not seem to be any qualification tests for people like me. The ATA certification requires a translation-related degree or a few years of full-time translation work, while the DipTrans seems too far-fetched right now given that it is on the same level as a master’s degree. I have considered about taking the DipTrans in a year and have started some preparations, but I personally do not believe it is enough to pass the DipTrans exam. I am studying the notes I got from someone who completed a BA in Translation, as well as translating articles online that have both Chinese and English versions then comparing mine to theirs.