Working as a translator in Australia
Thread poster: EstherCC
EstherCC
EstherCC
Spain
May 30, 2017

Hello,

I am a translator from Spain and I'd like to spend a year working in Australia. Does anyone know if it is "easy" to find a job as a translator there? I know that most Australian companies require the NAATI accreditation and asking for the recognition of my bachelor's degree costs more than $1000. So does anybody know if it is worth it? Should I try to get the recognition of my degree?

Thank you very much for all your answers and your help.

Esther.

Mel R
Mel R
Local time: 14:44
Italian to English
+ ...
NAATI accreditation May 31, 2017

Hi Esther,

Yes, most Australian translation companies will require you have NAATI accreditation and your bachelor's degree alone may not be enough, even if you pay to get it officially recognised.

On the other hand, if you have a freelance translation business and have already built the beginnings of a client base before going abroad, it shouldn't matter too much where in the world you are while you work!

Vanda Nissen
Vanda Nissen  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 00:44
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
Visa options May 31, 2017

If you intend to apply for a working visa as a translator, then NAATI accreditation is mandatory. If you are just going to spend this year on a work and holiday visa, your options would be limited. I am not even sure if you can work as a translator, unless you could find an in-house job. You will certainly need to check it with the authorities first.

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:44
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
1-year working visa for young people? May 31, 2017

Vanda Nissen wrote:
If you are just going to spend this year on a work and holiday visa, your options would be limited. I am not even sure if you can work as a translator, unless you could find an in-house job. You will certainly need to check it with the authorities first.