Fine Reader - Converting Files
Thread poster: Gabriele Demuth
Gabriele Demuth
Gabriele Demuth  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 07:48
English to German
Apr 20, 2015

So far I have generally worked with Word or Excel files, however, recently there were several situations where it would have been helpful to be able to convert PDF files to Word or the other way round.

As I have no knowledge of the software available and what it can do I was going to ask your advice.

I have tried a free converter but that didn't give me an editable version of the PDF file. The test version of ABBEYY Fine Reader seemed to work fine, but is the expense wo
... See more
So far I have generally worked with Word or Excel files, however, recently there were several situations where it would have been helpful to be able to convert PDF files to Word or the other way round.

As I have no knowledge of the software available and what it can do I was going to ask your advice.

I have tried a free converter but that didn't give me an editable version of the PDF file. The test version of ABBEYY Fine Reader seemed to work fine, but is the expense worth it (for occasional use) are there other options?

What software do you use, what do can it do (any singing and dancing features) and how much does it cost?
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Not your job Apr 20, 2015

I will never again accept any job that isn't already converted for me, and unless the conversion is perfect (including tables, diagrams, etc)-

I'm a translator, and I'm focussed on that. I recently lost a good client because they unfairly criticised me because although my translation itself was perfect to the last comma, it was impossible for me to maintain the formatting in the badly converted PDF they sent me at the very last minute on a Friday and then went home, leaving me to st
... See more