Wolfgang Schoene
Wolfgang Schoene  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 18:10
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...
Nov 7, 2021

Hi, I don't know if this is the right forum to post my question.
I will probably have to translate a number of HTML files, I've never dealt with this file type so I'm asking which CAT tool is the "best" to deal with this file type.

Thomas T. Frost
Thomas T. Frost  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 17:10
Danish to English
+ ...
Source layout Nov 7, 2021

Wolfgang Schoene wrote:

Hi, I don't know if this is the right forum to post my question.
I will probably have to translate a number of HTML files, I've never dealt with this file type so I'm asking which CAT tool is the "best" to deal with this file type.

Some CAT tools mess around with the layout of the source and join several lines, which is something, as an old programmer, I abhor.

A memoQ developer sent me an HTML filter to avoid that, but I don't think it has been integrated in the product. I can send it to anyone who wants it, though.

I think some of the free CAT tools can do it too, but I've forgotten which ones. I think it was OmegaT or Cafetran.

Hans Lenting

Hans Lenting
Hans Lenting
Netherlands
Member (2006)
German to Dutch
Quick test with CafeTran Espresso Nov 7, 2021

Saved the Proz page with your post as an HTML file and imported it in CafeTran Espresso. Locked all segments with " (for a quick test) and replaced some letters with an "m".

The exported result looks good:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/l4ha315k3081w64/354223-translating_html_files_nl-NL.html?dl=0

Perhaps the filter could be tweaked to hide all refs (or one could probably define a hidden non-translatable).

One button label was missed:

Screen Shot 2021-11-07 at 21.23.30

Probably other CAT tools will perform well too, since HTML is such an important file format.

[Edited at 2021-11-07 20:30 GMT]

Milan Condak
Milan Condak  Identity Verified
English to Czech
OmegaT Nov 7, 2021

Thomas T. Frost wrote: