James Armel Smith
James Armel Smith  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:10
Member (2018)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Jul 16, 2021

As a still relatively new professional translator, I am curious to know if/how established translators demonstrate their existing clients to agencies they work for in the event an agency presents them with work from one of the translator's existing private clients. More specifically, as an academic translator, I want to be prepared to demonstrate to any agency that may present me with work from a major university (or other relevant academic/research institution) I've already worked for directly ... See more
As a still relatively new professional translator, I am curious to know if/how established translators demonstrate their existing clients to agencies they work for in the event an agency presents them with work from one of the translator's existing private clients. More specifically, as an academic translator, I want to be prepared to demonstrate to any agency that may present me with work from a major university (or other relevant academic/research institution) I've already worked for directly that they are already an existing client of mine. Do you simply inform the agency of this prior to agreeing to work on the project for your existing client through them as well, or are you required to provide documentation (e-mails, contracts, invoices) demonstrating they are a private client to the agency?Collapse

writeaway
writeaway  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
It's none of the agencies' business Jul 16, 2021

I never ever give any outsourcer information about who(m) I work for. It's none of their business. And today's agencies will probably use that information to poach your private clients by underselling you.

Wolfgang Schoene
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Baran Keki
Tom in London
Yolanda Broad
Tanja Oresnik
Kevin Fulton

Adieu
Adieu  Identity Verified
Ukrainian to English
+ ...
Of course not Jul 17, 2021