Ethical Delimmas
Thread poster: Sharon 2022
Sharon 2022
Sharon 2022
Australia
Local time: 03:16
May 8, 2022

Hi
I am studying code of ethics in interpreting and translating, the following questions are regard with principle "clarify role of boundaries"
can someone give any advises for that.
1.If interpreter identify miscommunication between the two parties, should they adhere strictly to the ethical principles or do some actions to avoid potential conflict?

2.how to do if interpreter been asked to do something other than interpreting?

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 22:16
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Answers May 8, 2022

1.If interpreter identify miscommunication between the two parties, should they adhere strictly to the ethical principles or do some actions to avoid potential conflict?
An interpreter's job is to interpret the two parties' communication. It is not to avoid any conflict between the parties.

Such as what?

Dalia Nour
expressisverbis

Sadek_A
Sadek_A  Identity Verified
Local time: 23:16
English to Arabic
+ ...
... May 8, 2022

Sharon 2022 wrote:

No brainer, of course!

By "miscommunication," I guess you mean every party is talking about a different incident, raising a different topic and/or deliberately overshadowing the points of the other, and other activities of the sort.

If that's the case, then you need to indicate that to all the involved parties, not just the ones doing the talking but also the ones that might be overseeing such a debate, and restore the communication back to order.

*If you don't do so, you might end up being held accountable.

But, if by "miscommunication" you mean they are verbally fighting each other and throwing insults here and there, then you just convey exactly what they're saying.

I'll do it, only if she is hot and fit.

expressisverbis
Christopher Schröder
Liviu-Lee Roth
Franco Rigoni

Baran Keki
Baran Keki  Identity Verified
Türkiye
English to Turkish