Diploma/no diploma - is it a pre- requisite to find a job?
Thread poster: anna-alex
anna-alex
anna-alex
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:18
English to French
Jul 1, 2003

My request concerns the need (or not) to have a degree in translation to become a translator. Is it a pre- requisite to find a job or is it possible for somebody who has specialiased in another field (eg medical, science) to become a translator without having a degree?

[Edited at 2003-07-01 13:12]

Narasimhan Raghavan
Narasimhan Raghavan  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:48
English to Tamil
+ ...
In memoriam
No, it is not a pre-requisite Jul 1, 2003

I know what I am talking about. Let me quote from my example. I am a graduate electrical engineer with 23 years of Engineering experience. I learnt German and French just for fun and also to read the German/French novels in the original.
Translation was the by-product and this too I took up as a game in the beginning. I was after all earning good money as an Engineer. Then I joined a pharmaceutical firm as an Electrical Engineer cum French Translator. Right from the day one I was a big suc
... See more
I know what I am talking about. Let me quote from my example. I am a graduate electrical engineer with 23 years of Engineering experience. I learnt German and French just for fun and also to read the German/French novels in the original.